Sign in to follow this  
puddignman

Are crosshair overlays bannable or ok?

Hey, I was wondering whether using crosshair overlays from programs like Mumble or Overwolf is a bannable offense or not. I''ve seen the question pop up a couple of times but no dev or higher-up has answered so here's hoping that somebody will now

• Upvote 3

I don't think it's bannable because it's not injecting anything in to the process, but I'm no professional on the subject, I'd wait for a dev response or statement to be on the safe side, man.

There are even monitors that have a crosshair overlay utility, and as that is not injecting anything or modifying any kind of code, the anti-cheat wouldn't be able to detect it (I'm not a games programmer, so don't take my word on it).

So to answer the question, in my opinion, it won't be bannable. :)

Using a program for a crosshair is still an overlay and detectable by anti-cheat.  I don't think it should result in a ban but I still think that games should be played as they are made.  I personally classify anything that enhances the gameplay, in an unintended way, a cheat, but using a crosshair on battalion does not seem like a big deal. If you ask me, macros are a cheat, so I may not be the best judge on this matter :D

Using a monitor with a crosshair feature is completely undetectable and safe to use.

On 2/9/2018 at 8:56 AM, puddignman said:

Hey, I was wondering whether using crosshair overlays from programs like Mumble or Overwolf is a bannable offense or not. I''ve seen the question pop up a couple of times but no dev or higher-up has answered so here's hoping that somebody will now

As the game is right now and the way the weapon spray from hip firing is sooooo random, using an overlay will not do anything but annoy you!